• 1992


    The Duke Endowment awarded a substantial grant to Sisters of Charity Providence Hospitals, which was the official beginning of Health Reach, which served five inner-city schools in Richland School District One.
  • 1995


    Health Reach transitioned from Sisters of Charity Providence Hospitals to a ministry of the Sisters of Charity Health System.

  • 1995


    With the financial support of the Sisters of Charity Foundation, the program expanded into Richland Two Schools.

  • 1997


    With the financial support of the Sisters of Charity Foundation, the program expanded into Lexington Two Schools.

  • 1998


    The Health Reach model was replicated by Tuomey Healthcare System in Lee County.

  • 1999


    A formal Advisory Board was established.

  • 2000


    Program name changed from Health Reach to Healthy Learners.

  • 2002


    Healthy Learners received a substantial three-year grant from The Duke Endowment to meet the current program needs as well as to expand the program to serve 17 more elementary schools.

  • 2005


    Healthy Learners expanded to Allendale, Dillon, and Greenwood in South Carolina with financial support from BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina, The Duke Endowment and other statewide funders including Self Regional Healthcare, Self Family Foundation and The Fullerton Foundation.

  • 2006


    Healthy Learners was selected to receive the Achievement Citation, the most prestigious award from the Catholic Health Association. Also, Healthy Learners received the NOVA award from the American Hospital Association and the Irma P. Ramos Excellence in Hispanic Community Services Award.

  • 2007


    Healthy Learners received the Early Childhood and Basic Health Care Initiative Award from Healthy South Carolina Challenge and Governor Mark Sanford, and the Unsung Hero Award from EdVenture Children’s Museum.

  • 2007


    Establishment of a formal Research and Program Evaluation component of the Healthy Learners program took place.

  • 2008


    Expansion of Healthy Learners Dillon program to include Dillon School Districts One and Three.

  • 2009


    Healthy Learners Georgetown program opened serving all schools in Georgetown County.

  • 2010


    Healthy Learners transitioned from an advisory board to an official governing Board of Trustees.

  • 2011


    Healthy Learners named Coach Ray Tanner, former University of South Carolina Head Baseball Coach, the first Champion for Healthy Learners award recipient.


    To see full list of award recipients, click here.

  • 2016


    Healthy Learners Greenwood expands to include School District 52 (Ninety-Six, SC).

  • 2017


    Expansion of Healthy Learners Greenwood program to include School District 51 (Ware Shoals).

  • 2017


    Celebrates 25 years of service to children with unmet health care needs (58,741 vision, dental and other health-related services provided to 12,644 students).

  • 2019


    Healthy Learners launches new strategic direction to establish sustainable service delivery systems, expand geographical reach, and better engage communities in order to serve more children across South Carolina.

  • 2021


    In the fall of 2021, Healthy Learners began serving students in Marion County School District, Hampton County School District, and Laurens County School District 55, expanding our footprint in the Lowcountry, Pee Dee, and Upstate regions.

  • 2022


    Healthy Learners celebrates 30 years of providing access to health care for children across SC

  • 2023


    In 2023, Healthy Learners began serving students in Bamberg and Barnwell Counties, expanding our footprint in the Lowcountry region.

To learn more about the history of the Sisters of Charity of St. Augustine, please click here.